Board of Trustees

Board of Trustees:

Ian Thomas (OBE) Ian was Chairman and Managing Director of Culpeper, the herbalist for thirty years. He was awarded the OBE in 1997 for his services to export. Ian is our Chairman.

Rebecca Wing: Following twenty years as a teacher, Becky relocated from the North of England to Thanet where she retrained as a social worker and is now the youth engagement officer for Charlton Athletic Community Trust in the region. Becky is our Treasurer. Becky is heavily involved in local community issues and is also Chair of Ramsgate’s Addington Street Fair.

Deborah Cartwright: Deborah is the CEO of Oasis Domestic Abuse Services based in East Kent.

Alan Jones: After two decades as a Leisure Centre manager in London, Alan decided to pursue his artistic dreams and switched careers by working his up in the props department, starting as a runner and now works full time in the props departments at Pinewood Studios. He has worked on major feature films including the Batman, James Bond and Star Wars franchises, most notably taking full responsibility of the lightsabres.

Nathan Shepherd: Nathan was a long term participant of Kent Film Foundation’s youth workshops and saw the organisation’s transition from an informal structure into the charity it has become. Nathan was a teenager on one of the many programmes run for youth with disabilities and then went on to the highly regarded Bournemouth University film school. Nathan is now working in the UK film industry and based mostly out of Pinewood Studios.

Jo Blair: Jo Blair is the head of programming at Picturehouse Cinemas, the highly regarded independent cinema chain and independent distribution company.

Jan Dunn: Jan is an independent filmmaker who founded Kent Film Foundation after running the organisation initially as a non-for-profit arm of her film production company. Jan operates as Chief Executive of the organisation where she over sees both strategic governance and management. She is leading the charity through the acquisition of the derelict old Ice House on Ramsgate harbour via Thanet District Council’s first ever community asset transfer of the building.


Brenda Blethyn (OBE)

Lorraine Kelly (OBE)

Claire Harvey (TeamGB)


Sarah Bailey from Perfect Pitch Consulting

Scott Ridgen from Urban Surveyors (Ice House)


Our Tutor/Mentors come from a diverse range of backgrounds and skills:

Tony Currell – Tony is one of the main film tutor/mentors and has a long association with Kent Film Foundation.

In partnership with Tony’s company The Animation Company, Tony also runs all our stop-frame animation clubs for younger children through the weekly Lego® activity club known as 0937 Club.

Paul Andrew Williams – Film Director & Screenwriter

Angelica O’Reilly – Professional Actress and Stand-up comedienne.

Zena Merton – Documentary filmmaker

Sean Brady – Filmmaker

Emma Collins – Editor

Vinca Petersen – Art Director & Photographer.

Neil Collymore – Post production Sound Designer

Katy Fray – Hair & Make Up designer.

Claire Bryan – Actress and Public Speaking consultant

Christopher Smith – Film Director

Lolli Kimpton – Line Producer

James Blackwell – 1st Assistant Director.

Laura Gallop – Spark

Nic Morris (BSC) – Cinematographer

Alan Jones – Standby Props.

Anna Dick – Editor